Casey’s Taco Bubble Pizza

Yes, you heard right:  Casey’s Taco Bubble Pizza… yum!  When my friend Autumn text messaged me on Monday night and told me she was going here, I was instantly drooling.  Now, about a year ago, I made a Pilsbury recipe for Mexican Bubble Pizza.  It was alright, but let me tell you:  This was amazing!

I started with the base of any great taco meat….  Half a large onion, a small green pepper, and one jalapeno all chopped up fine.

I let them soften in the skillet, then added a pound of ground beef.  Once that was browned, I added a packet of taco seasoning, and a half a cup of water, and let it simmer while I worked on this (and forgot to take a picture of my taco meat 🙂 )…  The sauce and the bubbles!  I used a 24 oz jar of salsa and a cup of  ‘refried’ beans.  Now, m pizza was very saucy, you could have only added two cups of the salsa and been okay… I didn’t read the ounces until after i used it 🙂  I had intended to use two cups.

After mixing up the sauce, I used my handy kitchen shears to cut two tubes of grands biscuits into eighths, and mixed it all up!

Now, at this point I should have taken more pics, but I didn’t.  Space case?  That would be me!  My days and nights are all turned around as we’re still waiting for life to regain a sense of normal… that and this was my third cooking project of the day.

After mixing up the saucy bubbles 🙂 , you add a cup of cheddar cheese, and your cooked taco meat.  Dump into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, top with more cheese, and bake for another 20 minutes.  Plate up, and top with lettuce, tomato, and a dollup of sour cream….

Casey’s Taco Bubble Pizza

  • half a large onion
  • small green pepper
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1 cup refried beans
  • 2 tubes large refrigerated biscuits
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese
  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • sour cream

Saute onion and peppers.  Add Beef, and brown.  Sprinkle with taco seasoning, and add water.  Simmer on low til thickened.

Mix salsa and beans together in a large bowl.  Cut biscuits into eighths and add to sauce.  Mix in half of cheese, and all of ground beef mixture.  Pour into greased 9×13 pan.  Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese, and bake for 20 additional minutes.

Serve with lettuce, tomato, and sour cream sprinkled on the top.

One thing I forgot was taco chips, to truly be an authentic Casey’s Taco Bubble Pizza, taco flavored Dorito’s would make perfection.  All in all this is a pretty mild dish.  You could add a little more heat to the sauce with a spicier salsa than the one I used if you are into that sort of thing.  Also, if you are using canned refried beans, you might need to season a little more.  I used mine, and so they had quite a bit of flavor.

Enjoy 🙂

 

One Comment on “Casey’s Taco Bubble Pizza”


Leave a Reply

