Foolproof oven rice

And:  Oven Rice!

This was super easy, and courtesy of Better Homes & Gardens

in a 1 quart oven safe dish, melt 1 T butter in 1 1/2 cups boiling water.  Add 1/2 t salt and 3/4 cup of rice.  Cover.  Bake for 35 min at 350 degrees.  Done….. well, as long as the water is absorbed and rice is tender.

Yes, it takes just a little longer than some methods, but I found it to be perfect in the end…. so to me, it was worth it.  Someday I want a rice cooker.  I will happily wait for that day, though.

TIP:  Rice is coated in a powdery substance…. I believe I read baby powder.  Before I cook any rice (well, not minute rice)  I rinse it!  I read this online somewhere, and was very grateful for the tip 🙂  Usually I do it about a cup at a time, and us my sifter, since it’s a fine screening, and I don’t have to worry about rice falling through the holes 🙂

Leave a Reply

