Tomato Basil Bread Pudding…

In my recent produce gifting, there were about a dozen tomatoes.  And, in my recent cooking magazine purging, I came across a recipe for tomato basil bread pudding that I thought was worth a try!

You start by cubing and toasting some bread….  I used white sandwich bread from Fareway, real fancy.  The recipe suggested using croissants.  You could also use day old french or Italian.  Whatever you fancy.  I just cubed the bed and put it under the broiler til it smelled like toast.

Then, you layer half of it in a 9×13… or a little bigger pan like this one.  Then, you top it with shredded mozzarella.  Pleases, shred your own.  It takes about two seconds and you don’t have any extra starch in your life as a result.  I’m serious, I’ve cut us off of the pre-shredded stuff, and my whole world is better!  Well, Jesus might have more to do with that than shredding my own cheese.

Then, you slice up some fresh tomato, and sprinkle it with basil ribbons….  I had to use dried.  Fareway was out.  I was on a bike.  I wasn’t going anywhere else.

Finally, you mix up 10 eggs, and 2 1/2 cups of milk, and a little salt and pepper and pour it over the whole thing!  You kinda need to use a spoon to press down the bread a little, to make sure it is starting to absorb.

Then, let it rest for an hour and then bake at 325 for 45 minutes until it’s golden brown and tasty!

PS-before you make a HUGE pan of this, make sure your husband like bread pudding.  I will be eating tomato basil bread pudding for several days 🙂

TOMATO BASIL BRED PUDDING

20 oz bread, cubed & toasted

3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

10 plum tomatoes, sliced (or 3 beefsteaks?)

1 oz fresh basil cut into ribbons (ask me if you’re not sure what i mean)

10 eggs

2 1/2 cups milk

1 t salt

pepper to taste

Grease a 9×13 pan.  Layer half of the bread, cheese, tomatoes, and basil.   Repeat. Whisk eggs til blended.  Add milk, salt and a little pepper.  Slowly pour over bread.  Press down til it absorbs a little.  Let stand for one hour.  Bake for 45 minutes at 325 degrees til golden brown.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

